Cold days, dark days

Fresh from a hot shower, bundled up in a fluffy dressing gown. David Bowie singing through the speakers, rain pattering against the window. A once bright, white sky now shadowed in grey clouds. Outside someone is running, away from the rain, back to shelter. Another, without a coat admits defeat and walks.

These are the best days. Me days. I’ve turned the music off now, the rain has become heavier. You’d think it was october, maybe, or even february. Not may. I’m glad I don’t have to go outside, I don’t want the rain to stop.

I’m not one for summer and heat, give me winter walks on the beach over sunbathing any day. People find it odd for someone not to like summer, a friend gave me a funny look when I told her I don’t like it. What’s to like? Getting too hot you can’t function, having to wear shorts and, oh god, all the flying insects. No, thank you.

I like autumn and winter. Cold days when you can decide your temperature, layering clothing, sand in your shoes after a blustery walk along the shores. Rain against the window, bouncing off umbrellas, soaking you through. Cold days, dark days, sleepy days. Never knowing what the next day will be like – will there be a storm? or snow?

I have always loved the colder days, they seem so much more exciting to me than the sunny. The rain has stopped now, bright skies return. People outside laugh but inside I wish for the rain to return. It suits me, the rain and the dark skies.

“And as I watch the drops of rain
Weave their weary paths and die
I know that I am like the rain
There but for the grace of you go I”

Kathy’s Song, Paul Simon

Hannah

One thought on “Cold days, dark days

Leave a Reply

